Song for My Friend

Before I wrote my Open Letter to Erwin McManus, I wrote this song. It was my natural response to the pain I felt for my friend who took his life, and the realization that he may have never heard the good news of the gospel. I hope he did hear it, but I will never know, this side of heaven. I wish I could tell him now, but I still have the hope that others will hear and believe.

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.”  – Romans 1:16-17  (emphasis mine)

Fits And Starts
(In memory of Ron)

You could cry me a river
You could flood my heart
You could tell me the story
Of how things fell apart

You could paint me a picture
You could draw the line
Of where you were when you started
To where you are this time –

These fits and starts
Got you fallin’ apart
Cause’ when you trust your own heart
You’re stuck in the dark

You could look for the answer
You could stand aloof
You could talk to a preacher
And still not find the truth

Cause’ hope seemed like an illusion
Despair was an old friend
And life was like buried treasure
Empty in the end –

These fits and starts
Got you fallin’ apart
Cause’ when you trust your own heart
You’re stuck in the dark

You should have heard how he came to make things right
Take the weight of the world and make it light…
You should have heard that the justice had to start
With the trial and sentence in your heart…
You should have heard it was when you stood condemned
That’s the moment he came and stepped in
And said take me instead

Those fits and starts
Had you fallin’ apart
Cause’ when you trust your own heart
You’re stuck in the dark
I wish that I could explain…
But it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

